live algorithmic A/V performance

65daysofstatic: 

Decomposition Theory

+ support: sun glitters

Inspired by the "show us your screens" attitude of live coders, 65daysofstatic’s Decomposition Theory A/V show uses generative visuals to reveal the inner workings of the band’s musical algorithms. The code flashes by, logging every musical event as the band curate and sculpt the generative output in real time. The musical process, not the band, is placed front and centre.

 

Decomposition Theory is 65daysofstatic’s contribution to the burgeoning live-coding and "algorave" scenes. They imagine a space where music no longer has to take the shapes it is so often coerced into taking.

 

“Why are we doing this? No doubt, 65 are a long way from the frontline in any kind of struggle against capitalism and the abyss of a future it's driving us toward. But perhaps there's a minor supporting role in trying to imagine better futures. We are not railing against recorded music or albums or regular live shows, or what it can mean to be a band. However, these are all commodified forms. Almost all the ways anyone can relate to music these days are mediated through capital. Because we exist in relation to capital. We’re all drowning in it. It's almost impossible to think outside of it. And soDecomposition Theory is some small effort to imagine a space where music is no longer shaped in commodity forms, and a live show doesn’t emphasise the ritual of performance. We are un-songing our songs and un-performing on stage.”

Venue  : Klub

Date       : Sat 02.03.19

Schedule 

>20:30 doors

>21:00 Sun Glitters

>21:45 65daysofstatic

 

Price     : 15€

 tickets 

Sun Glitters (LU)

Since his arrival on the synth pop scene in 2011, Luxembourg-based music producer Victor Ferreira a.k.a. Sun Glitters has earned a loyal following through consistent output, fruitful collaborations, worldwide tours and festival appearances. In May 2017 Sun Glitters released It Will Be Forever, a full-length album brimming with 1980s neon noir influences. The LP was accompanied by an experimental film that premiered via VICE’s The Creators Project which described it as an “experimental visual album that makes everyday moments unbelievable.” Sun Glitters continues to push his creative potential as a music producer, video director, and graphic design artist − a potential on full display during Multiplica.

performance audiovisuelle algorithmique live

65daysofstatic: 

Decomposition Theory

+ support: sun glitters

Pour leur performance audiovisuelle Decomposition Theory, 65daysofstatic s’inspire des live coders qui n’ont rien à cacher sur leur écran et utilise des visuels génératifs, dévoilant du même coup le fonctionnement interne des algorithmes musicaux du groupe. Le code défile et enregistre chaque élément musical et parallèlement, le groupe organise et sculpte en temps réel le résultat généré. C’est donc le processus musical, et non le groupe, qui est placé au premier plan.

 

Decomposition Theory est la contribution de 65daysofstatic aux scènes émergentes du live coding et de l’«algorave». Avec cette performance, le groupe imagine un espace dans lequel la musique ne doit plus forcément prendre les formes qu’on lui impose.

 

«Pourquoi fait-on ça? 65daysofstatic se situe loin de la ligne de front de la lutte anticapitaliste, loin du futur épouvantable vers lequel le système nous conduit. Mais on peut peut-être apporter notre contribution – aussi petite soit-elle – en imaginant des jours meilleurs. Ce que nous faisons ne constitue pas une forme de révolte contre la musique enregistrée, les albums ou les concerts, ni contre ce qu’être dans un groupe représente. Mais cela transforme la musique en marchandise. Aujourd’hui, presque toutes les manières d’écouter et d’apprécier la musique passent par le capital. Parce que notre existence est liée au capitalisme. Nous sommes tous en train de nous y noyer. Il est presque impossible de penser en dehors de ce système. Decomposition Theory est une tentative d’imaginer un espace où la musique n’est plus façonnée sous forme de marchandise et où une émission en direct ne met pas l’accent sur le rituel de la performance. Nous «dé-composons» nos chansons et «dé-jouons» sur scène.»

Lieu                        : Klub

Date                        : Sam 02.03.19

Programme

>20:30 ouverture des portes

>21:00 Sun Glitters

>21:45 65daysofstatic

 

Prix                         : 15€

 tickets 

Sun Glitters (LU)

Depuis son arrivée sur la scène synth-pop en 2011, le producteur Victor Ferreira – mieux connu sous le nom de Sun Glitters – a conquis un public fidèle grâce à des sorties régulières, des solides collaborations, des tournées à travers le monde et de nombreuses apparitions en festivals. En mai 2017, Sun Glitters a publié It Will Be Forever, un album regorgeant d'influences néon noir des années 1980. Le disque était accompagné d'un film expérimental sorti en avant-première sur The Creators Project de VICE. Le site le décrivait alors comme un «album visuel expérimental rendant le quotidien incroyable». Sun Glitters continue de développer son potentiel créatif en tant que producteur musical, réalisateur vidéo et graphiste – un potentiel s’étalera pendant Multiplica.