concert

Actress (Live A/V) + Graham Dunning + Sensu (DJ set)

 

Actress (UK)

Dubbed «one of the preeminent and most singular voices in UK electronic music» Actress produces his tracks by melding his obsession with textures, his devotion to Detroit techno and his unequaled beat-matching skills. Actress has also released some of the most widely talked about artists of the emerging bass generation (Disrupt, Zomby, Lukid and Starkey) on Werkdiscs, the label he co-founded.

 

After performances at the Tate Gallery, the Barbican or the ARTE Concert Festival (but before Sónar Barcelona this summer) Actress will be in Luxembourg for one of his legendary, mesmerizing live shows.

 

 

Graham Dunning (UK)

Graham Dunning’s live work explores sound as texture, timbre and something tactile, drawing on bedroom production, tinkering and recycling found objects. He’s self-taught, which may explain his freedom as an artist and musician. "If you define yourself as a sound artist rather than a musician you widen your horizons considerably," he says.

 

With Mechanical Techno he deliberately avoids the precision of computer-created music. His record deck is an installation that activates objects and instruments, leaving plenty of room for chance elements and turning sounds into perfectly imperfect music.

 

Each set-up is unique, each performance is one-of-a-kind. Nobody will ever hear what you are about to hear!

 

Sensu (BE)

For years Sensu was one of the voices of the electronic music underground in Belgium. He originally started out as an experimental ambient DJ, but quickly refocused his ambition, adding club music to his palette. Originally influenced by the Berlin techno sound of the nineties, he quickly reached further, always choosing a less direct path to get his message across. Avant-garde and modern classical music are still close to his heart, a love often displayed in his eclectic DJ sets. Over the past few years, he has delved into disco and industrial music.

 

Sensu has held residencies in Recyclart, Café Belga and Wax Club in Brussels and regularly plays in the Villa Wüller in Trier. He was one of the founding members of the Manna and Plain collectives, bringing original and leftfield artists to Belgium, often for the first time. He was involved with the Belgian label for experimental music Testtoon Records and is a frequent Meakusma collaborator as a DJ and writer. The Manchester-based label Meandyou released a track of his in 2016 to great acclaim.

Venue       : Klub

Date           : Ven 01.03.19

Schedule 

>20:30 Doors

>21:15 Graham Dunning "Mechanical Techno" live set

>22:15 Actress

>23:30 Sensu (DJ set)

 

Price         : 15€

 tickets

concert

Actress (Live A/V) + Graham Dunning + Sensu (DJ set)

 

Actress (UK)

Décrit comme l’un des artistes les plus singuliers de l’électro anglaise, Actress produit ses morceaux sur base de son obsession pour les textures, sa passion pour la techno de Detroit et son talent inégalé pour l’association de beats. Sur Werkdiscs, le label qu’il a co-fondé, il a sorti les artistes les plus en vue de la scène bass émergente (Disrupt, Zomby, Lukid and Starkey).

 

Après des performances à la Tate Gallery, au Barbican ou encore au ARTE Concert Festival (mais avant le festival Sónar de Barcelone cet été), Actress sera à Luxembourg pour une de ses hypnotisantes prestations qui ont fait sa réputation.

 

 

Graham Dunning (UK)

En live, Graham Dunning explore les tonalités et les textures des sons. Il en joue avec une approche DIY qui intègre platines et objets trouvés. Il ne s’encombre pas d’idées préconçues sur ce que doit être la musique. «Si tu te considères non pas comme un musicien, mais comme un artiste sonore, cela t'ouvre bien plus de possibilités,» explique-t-il.

 

Avec Mechanical Techno, il évite délibérément la précision qui va de pair avec la musique créée par ordinateur. Sa platine est une installation dont le mouvement active d’autres objets et instruments. Le hasard fait partie intégrante de son  set et arrange les sons en une musique parfaitement imparfaite.

 

Chaque installation est unique. Chaque performance ne se vit qu’une fois. Ce que vous allez entendre, personne d’autre ne l’entendra !

 

Sensu (BE)

Pendant très longtemps, Sensu a été l’une des artistes majeurs de l’électro underground belge. Après s’être concentré sur l’ambient expérimental, il a revu ses envies de DJ et a ajouté de la musique club à son répertoire. Il a rapidement dépassé ses influences techno berlinoises des années 90, gardant une place particulière dans ses sets pour l’avant-garde et la musique classique moderne. Ces dernières années, il s’est concentré sur le disco et la musique industrielle.

 

Sensu a été DJ résident au Recyclart, au Café Belga et au Wax Club à Bruxelles et joue régulièrement à la Ville Wüller à Trèves. Il était l’un des membres fondateurs des collectifs Manna et Plain. Il a été actif au sein du label belge de musique expérimental Testtoon Records et collabore régulièrement avec Meakusma comme DJ et rédacteur. Plus récemment, un de ses morceaux, sorti en 2016 sur le label mancunien Meandyou, a été particulièrement bien accueilli.

Lieu              : Klub

Date              : Ven 01.03.19

Horaires :

>20:30 Doors

 >21:15 Graham Dunning "Mechanical Techno" live set

>22:15 Actress

>23:30 Sensu (DJ set)

 

Tarif          : 15€

 tickets