Art installations

AnthropOcean

A perspective on underwater noise pollution

Ganaël Dumreicher, Michelle Kleyr & Lucie Wahl

AnthropOcean_04_screenshot_Lucie_Wahl.png

© Lucie Wahl

For most of the marine ecosystem, sound plays an essential role in communication and orientation. However, over the past 70 years, ocean noise levels have doubled every decade because of human activity. The increase in global sea traffic, military sonar and search for oil using seismic air guns have deadly consequences for an already heavily polluted ecosystem.

 

Luxembourg, being so far from the sea, might seem to be neither a direct cause nor affected by the consequences of a pollution that will eventually reach a tipping point. The general public is often not aware of the interconnectedness of the world. The oceans produce almost half of the world's oxygen, and are still very much a terra incognita but are treated mainly as a resource to be economically exploited.

 

The installation AnthropOcean in the Rotonde 2 places visitors in the middle of another world. The 360-degree experience of image and audio impulses offers a unique and unexpected perspective of marine life, where the romantic idea of Cousteau’s Silent World is interwoven with a new and human-made thread of disorienting sounds. As an intersection between art, science and ecology, the art project uses scientific research as a starting point and recordings from the noisiest spot in the Mediterranean.

 

The ten-minute immersive experience can be extended in the Buvette with a loop and a cube. A round table discussion will take place on Saturday 04.12.21 at 19:00 at the Buvette.

Installation Rotonde 2:

FRI 03.12 >18:00 >18:20 >18:40 >19:00 >19:20 >19:40 >20:00 >20:20

SAT 04.12 >18:00 >18:20 >18:40 >20:30 >20:50

Duration:

10 minutes

Place: 

Rotonde 2

Price: 

Free entry with CovidCheck

loop #29 & cube #11 :

Visible during the Buvette’s opening hours

Place: 

Buvette

Price: 

Free entry with CovidCheck

AnthropOcean is a Rotondes production, a coproduction with the Nuit de la Culture. The installation will be on display in Esch-sur-Alzette in March 2022.

AnthropOcean_03_still_Lucie_Wahl.png

© Lucie Wahl

Installations artistiques

AnthropOcean

A perspective on underwater noise pollution

Ganaël Dumreicher, Michelle Kleyr & Lucie Wahl

AnthropOcean_04_screenshot_Lucie_Wahl.png

© Lucie Wahl

Pour la majeure partie de l’écosystème marin, le son joue un rôle essentiel dans la communication et l'orientation. Mais au cours des 70 dernières années, les niveaux de bruit des océans ont doublé chaque décennie en raison de l’activité humaine. L'augmentation du trafic maritime mondial, les sonars militaires et la recherche de pétrole à l'aide de canons à air comprimé sismiques ont des conséquences mortelles pour un écosystème déjà très pollué.

 

De par sa situation géographique, on pourrait penser que le Luxembourg n’est ni une cause directe de cette pollution, ni une victime potentielle de ses conséquences. Ce serait sous-estimer les interconnexions qui la constituent. Plus de la moitié de la production d’oxygène est le fruit des océans, qui restent une terra incognita mais sont encore traités comme une zone à exploiter.

 

L’installation AnthropOcean, dans la Rotonde 2, plonge les visiteurs au cœur d’un autre monde. Cette expérience audio-visuelle à 360° propose une immersion dans la vie sous-marine. À l’image d’Épinal véhiculée par Le monde du silence du commandant Cousteau se superpose une trame sonore faites de bruits nouveaux et créés par l’humanité, menant à un sentiment de désorientation. Au croisement de l'art, de la science et de l'écologie, le projet prend appui sur des recherches scientifiques et des enregistrements réalisés aux points les plus bruyants de la Méditerranée.

 

L’immersion d’une dizaine de minutes se prolonge à la Buvette par un loop et un cube. Une table ronde sur le même thème est organisée le samedi 04.12.21 à 19:00 à la Buvette.

Installation Rotonde 2 :

VEN 03.12 >18:00 >18:20 >18:40 >19:00 >19:20 >19:40 >20:00 >20:20

Sam 04.12 >18:00 >18:20 >18:40 >20:30 >20:50

Durée:

10 minutes

Lieu: 

Rotonde 2

Tarif: 

Entrée libre avec CovidCheck

loop #29 & cube #11 :

Visibles aux heures d’ouverture de la Buvette

Lieu: 

Buvette

Tarif: 

Entrée libre avec CovidCheck

AnthropOcean est une production des Rotondes, en coproduction avec la Nuit de la Culture. L’installation sera montrée en mars 2022 à Esch/Alzette.

AnthropOcean_03_still_Lucie_Wahl.png

© Lucie Wahl