Workshop

Edit-a-thon:

Focus on Afro-descendants in Luxembourg

In collaboration with Finkapé a.s.b.l.

2048px-ArtAndFeminism_MoMA18_-_19_-_Edit

© Art and Feminism - MoMA 2018

They are artists and sportspeople or public figures and yet they are barely noticed. Finkapé has partnered with Rotondes to help restore the balance and improve the visibility of the prominent afro-descendant figures who help put Luxembourg on the map through their work, creations and local and/or international presence. And it all starts with Wikipedia.

 

During this edit-a-thon (from “to edit” and “marathon”), participants become fully-fledged contributors to Wikipedia after having received an introduction to editing, updating and publishing articles on the online encyclopaedia. The aim is to counter the under-representation of BIPOC on this platform, which is mainly maintained by white men in their thirties.

 

It’s an established fact that Wikipedia is no neutral space, something New York lawyer Alica Backer has been trying to dismantle since founding AfroCROWD in 2015. An initiative intended to “rectify Wikipedia’s lack of articles about black history and black culture” and which has inspired many others in the US and elsewhere.

 

This lack of representation is obviously not without consequences, including in Luxembourg. It creates racial bias and erases the presence of Afro-descendants from the national landscape. While Luxembourg’s cultural and ethnic diversity seems well established, the visibility of Afro-descendants remains painfully limited. Furthermore, racial bias tends to perpetuate a negative image of the people concerned, to reinforce the current dominant world vision and to blur our small Grand Duchy’s real diversity.

Sat 27.02 >14:00-16:00

Duration:

120'

Place: 

Online via Zoom

Age: 

From 16 years old

Language: 

General introduction in Luxembourgish.

Technical introduction in English (in Luxembourgish or French if needed)

Corrections of pages in Luxembourgish, French, German and English according to the preferences of each participant

Note: 

No prerequisites required

Price: 

Free, registration required

Research & supervision: Finkapé a.s.b.l.

Technical supervision : Rotondes,

Rosa Paardenkooper (Art+Feminism)

With the support of: IKL − Centre d'éducation interculturelle and ASTI − Association de Soutien aux Travailleurs Immigrés

Multiplica is organised by:

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
© Rotondes 2021, all rights reserved Terms and conditions • Webdesign & Developpement by Rotondes
general Contact

 

+352 2662 2007

info@rotondes.lu

ticketing

+352 2662 2030

tickets@rotondes.lu

Atelier

Edit-a-thon :

Focus sur les Afro-descendant∙e∙s au Luxembourg

En collaboration avec Finkapé a.s.b.l.

2048px-ArtAndFeminism_MoMA18_-_19_-_Edit

© Art and Feminism - MoMA 2018

Ils/Elles sont artistes, sportif∙ve∙s et personnalités publiques − présent∙e∙s, mais peu visibles. Afin de rétablir l’équilibre, Finkapé, en collaboration avec les Rotondes, propose de renforcer la visibilité des personnalités afro-descendantes qui, par leurs productions, leurs ouvrages et leur présence locale et/ou internationale, contribue au rayonnement luxembourgeois. Et ça commence sur Wikipedia.

Durant cet «edit-a-thon» (contraction de «éditer» et «marathon»), les participant·e·s deviendront contributeur·trice·s à part entière de Wikipedia après une introduction sur l’édition, la mise à jour et la publication d’articles sur le site. L'objectif est de contrer la sous-représentation des BIPOC sur cette plateforme majoritairement entretenue par des hommes trentenaires blancs.

Car non, Wikipédia n’est pas un espace neutre. Il s’agit là d’un état de fait que l’avocate new-yorkaise Alice Backer essaie de démanteler depuis 2015 avec AfroCROWD dont l’objectif est de « rectifier le manque d’articles sur l’Histoire et la culture noire » − une initiative qui en a inspiré bien d’autres aux Etats-Unis et ailleurs.

 

Ce manque de représentativité n’est évidemment pas sans conséquence, y compris au Luxembourg. Il crée des biais raciaux et efface la présence des Afro-descendant·e·s du paysage national. Alors que la diversité culturelle et ethnique du Luxembourg n’est plus à démontrer, la visibilité des Afro-descendant·e·s y reste, elle, tristement limitée. De plus, les biais raciaux tendent à perpétuer une image négative des personnes concernées, à renforcer la vision actuellement dominante du monde et à gommer la diversité réelle de notre petit Grand-Duché. 

Sam 27.02 >14:00-16:00

Durée:

120'

Lieu: 

En ligne sur Zoom

Âge: 

À partir de 16 ans

Langues: 

Introduction en langue luxembourgeoise. Introduction technique en langue anglaise (explications possibles en luxembourgeois ou français). Travail sur les pages en luxembourgeois, français, allemand et anglais en fonction des participant·e·s

Remarque: 

Pas de connaissances techniques requises

Tarif: 

Gratuit, sur inscription obligatoire

Recherche & encadrement: Finkapé a.s.b.l.

Encadrement technique : Rotondes,

Rosa Paardenkooper (Art+Feminism)

Avec le soutien de: IKL − Centre d'éducation interculturelle et ASTI − Association de Soutien aux Travailleurs Immigrés