Audiovisual installation

la forêt de hambach et le sublime technologique

Joanie Lemercier

Hambach_Sitting-photo_Joanie_Lemercier.j

© Joanie Lemercier

Located in Germany, just one and a half hour drive from Joanie Lemercier's Brussels studio, the Hambach forest is the last remnant of an ancient woodland ecosystem that has occupied this part of the Rhine River plain since the end of the last ice age. Today, this natural treasure is a tenth of its original size. The rest has been cleared to make room for the Hambach open-pit coalmine, the largest of its kind in Europe.

 

After discovering its existence in 2019, Joanie Lemercier went on to create The Hambach Forest and the Technological Sublime, an immersive audiovisual installation that plunges the viewer into the heart of the gigantic extraction shaft and a natural environment in the throes of destruction. Based on the Romantics’ view of nature in the 19th century, the Sublime (or the “beautiful mingled with fear”, Kant) becomes technological. In a completely industrialised world, the term then applies to an over-exploited nature scarred by relentless human action.

 

In Hambach, the biggest man-made machines on Earth embody the concept of “slow violence” described by Professor Rob Nixon. They slowly but incessantly scrape the earth and rip away all resources from the ground, but all this happens far away from the eyes of the world, so those who do not want to see it can easily ignore the destruction, which is taking place.

 

While condemning climate injustice and the annihilation of the original beauty of the site, The Hambach Forest and the Technological Sublime also highlights how each one of us has the power to do something and urges us to take action.

fri 26.02 >18:00-22:00

Sat 27.02 >14:00-22:00

sun  28.02 >11:00-18:00

Duration:

Non-stop

Place: 

Black Box

Price: 

Free entry

Joanie Lemercier

 

French artist and activist Joanie Lemercier uses his work to play with our visual perception: his projections of light disrupt space and affect our senses. Introduced to creating art on a computer at a very young age by his mother, he soon developed a taste for physical structures: geometry, patterns and minimalist forms. His work, which incorporates both physics and philosophy, plays with these concrete structures.

 

His first experiments with video projectors came to life in 2006. In 2008, he co-founded the visual label AntiVJ with Yannick Jacquet, Romain Tardy and Olivier Ratsi, creating installations for numerous festivals and designs architectural projections around the world. In 2013, Joanie Lemercier founded his own creative studio, currently based in Brussels.

 

After years spent exploring the infinite possibilities offered by new technologies, he now uses his artistic experience to take part in the environmental debate and to suggest new modes of action.

Hambach_Bagger-photo_Joanie_Lemercier.jp

© Joanie Lemercier

credits

 

Creation: Joanie Lemercier / video (filming and editing): Joanie Lemercier / production: Juliette Bibasse / music: Used by permission from Multiverse Media Publishing and Subtext Recordings, music by Roly Porter, Ellen Arkbro, Cevdet Erek / music mix: James Ginzburg / additional images: Arne Müseler / activism images filmed during Ende Gelände actions in June 2019 and September 2020 / texts: Juliette Bibasse and Alexander Scholz / years of creation: 2019-2021

Multiplica is organised by:

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
© Rotondes 2021, all rights reserved Terms and conditions • Webdesign & Developpement by Rotondes
general Contact

 

+352 2662 2007

info@rotondes.lu

ticketing

+352 2662 2030

tickets@rotondes.lu

Installation audiovisuelle

la forêt de hambach et le sublime technologique

Joanie Lemercier

Hambach_Sitting-photo_Joanie_Lemercier.j

© Joanie Lemercier

Située en Allemagne, à 1h30 du studio bruxellois de Joanie Lemercier, la forêt de Hambach est le dernier vestige d’un écosystème forestier qui occupe cette partie de la plaine alluviale rhénane depuis la fin de la dernière ère glaciaire. Aujourd’hui, ce trésor naturel ne fait plus qu’un dixième de sa taille d’origine. Le reste a été défriché pour laisser place à la plus grande mine de charbon d’Europe.

 

Après en avoir découvert l’existence en 2019, Joanie Lemercier développe La Forêt de Hambach et le Sublime Technologique, une installation audiovisuelle qui immerge les spectateur∙rice∙s au cœur du gigantesque puits d’extraction et d’un environnement en pleine destruction. Prenant appui sur le regard que les romantiques posaient sur la nature au XIXe siècle, le Sublime (soit le «beau mêlé de crainte», Kant) devient technologique. Dans un univers totalement industrialisé, le terme s’applique ici à une nature surexploitée et marquée de l’empreinte omniprésente de l’action humaine.

À Hambach, les plus grandes machines jamais construites par l’Homme exemplifient le concept de «slow violence» décrit par le professeur Rob Nixon. Alors qu’elles arrachent en continu les ressources du sol, leur action graduelle a lieu loin des yeux du monde, leur impact peut donc facilement être ignoré par celles et ceux qui ne veulent pas le voir.

 

Tout en dénonçant l’injustice climatique et la destruction de la beauté originelle du site, La Forêt de Hambach et le Sublime Technologique ne manque pas de mettre en lumière la capacité de mobilisation de chaque citoyen∙ne et l’enjoint à passer à l’action.

VEN 26.02 >18:00-22:00

Sam 27.02 >14:00-22:00

Dim  28.02 >11:00-18:00

Durée:

En continu

Lieu: 

Black Box

Tarif: 

Entrée libre

Joanie Lemercier

 

Dans son travail, l’artiste et activiste français Joanie Lemercier joue avec la perception visuelle du spectateur : ses projections de lumière bouleversent l’espace et perturbent nos sens. Initié très jeune à la création sur ordinateur par sa mère, il développe un goût pour les structures épurées : géométrie, motifs et formes minimalistes. Son travail joue avec ces structures concrètes, impliquant la physique comme la philosophie.

 

Ses premières expérimentations avec des vidéoprojecteurs naissent en 2006. En 2008, il co-fonde le label visuel AntiVJ avec Yannick Jacquet, Romain Tardy et Olivier Ratsi. Le label crée des installations pour de nombreux festivals et conçoit des mapping architecturaux à travers le monde. En 2013, il fonde son propre studio à Bruxelles.

 

Après des années passées à explorer les possibilités infinies qu’offrent les nouvelles technologies, Joanie utilise aujourd’hui son expérience artistique pour participer au débat autour des problèmes environnementaux et proposer de nouveaux modes d’action.

Hambach_Bagger-photo_Joanie_Lemercier.jp

© Joanie Lemercier

crédits

 

Création: Joanie Lemercier / vidéo (prise de vue et montage): Joanie Lemercier / production: Juliette Bibasse / musique: avec la permission de Multiverse Media Publishing et Subtext Recordings, musique par Roly Porter, Ellen Arkbro, Cevdet Erek / mix audio: James Ginzburg / film de l’église d’Immerath: Arne Müseler / images d’activistes filmées pendant les actions organisées par l’association Ende Gelände en juin 2019 et septembre 2020 / textes: Juliette Bibasse et Alexander Scholz

Année de creation: 2019-2021

Le festival Multiplica est organisé par:

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
© Rotondes 2021, tous droits réservés • Mentions légales • Webdesign & Développement by Rotondes
Contact Général

 

+352 2662 2007

info@rotondes.lu

BILLETtERIE

 

+352 2662 2030

tickets@rotondes.lu