Panel discussion

Digital inequalities in Luxembourg

Where things stand

 

Moderation: Raymond Klein

equal_YC.jpg

© Yves Conrardy

According to a recent study, Luxembourg is ranked eighth in the Digital Gender Equality Index. Furthermore, since September this year students in lycées across the country have been introduced to working with robotics, internet ethics and artificial intelligence. So, it seems like everything is on the right track, Luxembourgers are being prepared for the digital realities. But is this really the case? What about inequalities? Are they not reinforced, or even created, with digitalisation?

 

During this round table, researchers, educators, and citizens will each weigh in on the topic.

 

The discussion will be moderated by Raymond Klein, journalist at woxx, former computer scientist, techno-enthusiast and technoskeptic ever since his first "microcomputer" and the age of the Minitel.

SAT 30.10 >19:30

Durée:

90'

Lieu: 

Plateforme

Langue(s): 

En français et luxembourgeois, avec traduction simultanée en français pour les interventions en luxembourgeois

Tarif: 

Entrée libre avec CovidCheck

In collaboration with Forum

participants

Valérie Schafer

 

Valérie Schafer has been a Professor in Contemporary European History at the C²DH (Centre for Contemporary and Digital History) at the University of Luxembourg since February 2018.

She previously worked at the CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research) in France and is still an Associate Researcher at the Center for Internet and Society.

She specialises in the history of computing, telecommunications and data networks. Her main research interests are the history of the Internet and the Web, the history of European digital cultures and infrastructures, and born-digital heritage (especially Web archives).

She also works on Gender and ICTs and on current issues related to the digital, like sustainability, inclusiveness and the governance of the Internet, the Web and Knowledge infrastructures. She is a co-founder and co-editor of the journal Internet Histories. Digital Technology, Culture and Society (Taylor & Francis).

She is the principal investigator of the HIVI project, which is supported by the Luxembourg National Research Fund and dedicated to the history of online virality.

Claire Flammang

Art and drama teacher since 2000, Claire Flammang has also been an active member of the innovation department of SCRIPT (Coordination service of pedagogical and technological research and innovation, Ministry of Education, Childhood and Youth, Luxembourg) since 2016. Claire has always been driven by the urge of connecting creativity, new technologies, innovation and pedagogy. Co-author of the Luxemburgish framework of DigComp for teachers launched in March 2020, she’s currently a national coordinator and organiser of events such as the Art Teachers’ Day, the eduMedia days (for the integration of new technologies in education), the tablUcation days (regarding the use of tablets in education) and is in charge of Digital Sciences as a new school subject.

Jana Degrott

 

Jana Degrott is an activist and a jurist and counts as one of the youngest elected politicians in the EU. Since 2017, she is a councillor in Steinsel, Luxembourg. She is the co-founder of the podcast series We Belong Europe and a writing contributor and host of the podcast Wat leeft? for the Luxembourgish newspaper Lëtzebuerger Journal. She does research around closing the diversity gap in technology.

 

Patrick de la Hamette

 

Patrick de la Hamette is an engineer by profession and Doctor of Science (Dr Sc. ETH) in the field of electrical engineering and information technology. After working for 7 years as a researcher in Switzerland, he joined the IT Department of the Luxembourg social security in 2009. He co-founded the non-profit Digital Inclusion in 2016 together with Isabelle Mousset, and has actively worked as a volunteer alongside the team ever since.

Table ronde

Les inégalités numériques au Luxembourg

Un état des lieux

 

Modération: Raymond Klein

equal_YC.jpg

© Yves Conrardy

Selon une étude récente, le Luxembourg se classe au huitième rang du Digital Gender Equality Index et, depuis septembre de cette année, les lycéenn·e·s sont aux prises avec la robotique, l'éthique d'Internet et l'intelligence artificielle. Tout semble donc aller pour le mieux pour préparer les Luxembourgeois·e·s aux réalités numériques. Mais est-ce vraiment le cas ? Certaines inégalités ne sont-elles pas renforcées, voire créées par la numérisation ?

 

Au cours de cette table ronde, chercheur·euse·s, citoyen·ne·s et personnes issues du monde éducatif apporteront chacun·e un éclairage à ce sujet.

 

La discussion sera animée par Raymond Klein, ex-informaticien, journaliste au woxx depuis 20 ans, techno-enthousiaste et -sceptique et ce, depuis l'époque de son premier "micro-ordinateur"... et du Minitel.

SAM 30.10 >19:30

Durée:

90'

Lieu: 

Plateforme

Langue(s): 

En français et luxembourgeois, avec traduction simultanée en français pour les interventions en luxembourgeois

Tarif: 

Entrée libre avec CovidCheck

En collaboration avec Forum

participant∙e∙s

Valérie Schafer

 

Valérie Schafer est professeur d'histoire européenne contemporaine au C²DH (Centre for Contemporary and Digital History) de l'Université du Luxembourg depuis février 2018. Elle a auparavant travaillé au CNRS (Centre national de la recherche scientifique) en France et est toujours chercheuse associée au Centre Internet et Société.

Elle est spécialiste de l'histoire de l'informatique, des télécommunications et des réseaux de données. Ses principaux intérêts de recherche sont l'histoire de l'Internet et du Web, l'histoire des cultures numériques, et le patrimoine nativement numérique (en particulier les archives Web).

Elle travaille également sur des questions liées au genre et au numérique et sur des enjeux actuels comme la durabilité et l'inclusion numériques et la gouvernance d'Internet, du Web et des infrastructures de la connaissance.

Elle est cofondatrice de la revue Internet Histories. Digital Technology, Culture and Society (Taylor & Francis). Elle coordonne le projet HIVI, consacré à l'histoire de la viralité en ligne et soutenu par le Fonds national de la recherche (FNR).

Claire flammang

 

Professeure d’art et de théâtre depuis 2000, Claire Flammang est également membre active du département Innovation du SCRIPT (Service de Coordination de la Recherche et de l'Innovation pédagogiques et technologiques du Ministère de l’éducation nationale, de l’enfance et de la jeunesse) depuis 2016. Claire a toujours cherché à combiner créativité, nouvelles technologies, innovation et pédagogie. Co-autrice de la version luxembourgeoise du cadre européen DigComp publié en mars 2020 à l’intention des enseignant·e·s, Claire est également responsable des sciences numériques en tant que nouvelle matière scolaire. Actuellement, elle est en charge de la coordination et de l’organisation d’événements nationaux tels que la journée des professeur·e·s d’art, les journées eduMedia pour l’intégration des nouvelles technologies dans l’éducation et les journées tablUcation pour l’utilisation des tablettes à l’école.

Jana Degrott

 

Jana Degrott is activiste, juriste et l’une des plus jeunes élues de l’UE. Depuis 2017, elle siège comme conseillère communale à Steinsel. Elle est co-fondatrice du podcast We Belong Europe et anime et écrit pour le podcast Wat leeft? du Lëtzebuerger Journal. Elle effectue des recherches sur le manque de diversité dans les domaines technologiques.

Patrick de la Hamette

 

Patrick de la Hamette est ingénieur de profession et docteur ès sciences (Dr Sc. ETH) dans le domaine de l’ingénierie électrique et des technologies de l'information. Après avoir travaillé 7 ans comme chercheur en Suisse, il rejoint le service informatique de la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise en 2009. En 2016, il co-fonde, avec Isabelle Mousset, l’a.s.b.l. Digital Inclusion pour laquelle il travaille toujours activement en tant que bénévole.