Panel discussion

Fighting back with technology

 

A talk with artists, curators, hackers and activists 

Moderation: Yves Conrardy

Table ronde-EN-NEW.jpg

No one today can imagine a life without digital technologies and internet. But while most of us are simple users, artists, activists and hackers question our digital habits. We’ve invited a few of them to share their insights with us at a Multiplica 2021 round table.

 

During this discussion we will discover how digital technologies are used to support today’s most urgent activist causes and how contributions to Wikipedia could help make the world wide web an egalitarian space.

 

We will also talk about the Tor network, often misrepresented as part of the so-called Dark Net, and how it is more dedicated to the privacy and freedom of its users than the internet that we all know and use every day. This talk is definitely going to shatter some preconceived ideas!

fri 26.02 >19:00-20:30

Duration:

90'

Place:

Galerie

Language: 

In English with simultaneous translation to French

Price: 

Free entry, registration required

participants

Joanie Lemercier

(FR, Artist, Activist)

 

French artist and activist Joanie Lemercier uses his work to play with our visual perception: his projections of light disrupt space and affect our senses. Introduced to creating art on a computer at a very young age by his mother, he soon developed a taste for physical structures: geometry, patterns and minimalist forms. His work, which incorporates both physics and philosophy, plays with these concrete structures.

 

His first experiments with video projectors came to life in 2006. In 2008, he co-founded the visual label AntiVJ with Yannick Jacquet, Romain Tardy and Olivier Ratsi, creating installations for numerous festivals and designs architectural projections around the world. In 2013, Joanie Lemercier founded his own creative studio, currently based in Brussels.

 

After years spent exploring the infinite possibilities offered by new technologies, he now uses his artistic experience to take part in the environmental debate and to suggest new modes of action.

▸ Joanie Lemercier on Twitter

Juliette Bibasse

(FR, head of Studio Joanie Lemercier, Curator)

 

Juliette’s professional background in artistic direction has led her to acquire a taste for simple and stripped down aesthetics. Since 2009 she’s used her skills on the digital cultural scene, creating opportunities for, and connections between, artists, festivals and various players in the creative world.

 

As an independent producer for artists, she takes part in a wide range of projects: international digital arts festivals, installations, commissions for private events, etc. She has represented many international artists and assisted them in the dissemination of their existing work, projects or new installations. She currently manages the Joanie Lemercier Studio.

 

Based in Belgium since 2013, she is active within the digital arts scene of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation. Since 2016, she has been working as an associate curator for various festivals and cultural institutions. Since 2019 she has been the international guest curator of the STRP festival in Eindhoven (NL). The same year, she co-founded SALOON Brussels, an international network for women in the arts. In 2020, she developed a new artistic light path for the city of Leuven (BE).

▸ Juliette Bibasse on Twitter

Rosa Paardenkooper

(they / them  - NL, translator, curator, amateur coder)

 

Rosa Paardenkooper is the Regional Ambassador for Europe for Art+Feminism (2020-21). They are the co-founder of School in Common, a self-organised school for learning, studying and being in common. They are currently working on the transdisciplinary study programme Mourning School with curator Lucie Gottlieb. In their practice they explore collaborative translation, digital accessibility, disability justice, mental health, critical pedagogy, and radical publishing.

▸ Art+Feminism on Twitter

Sam Grüneisen

(LU, digital native, hacker)

 

Sam is a member of the Chaos Computer Club (CCC)’s local branch, the Chaos Computer Club Lëtzebuerg (C3L). This association of hackers provides information about technical and societal issues, such as surveillance, privacy, freedom of information, hacktivism, data security, among other topics. C3L is the owner of the ChaosStuff Hackerspace, a place where members and like-minded hackers can gather and work on projects.

 

Sam is also a member of Frënn vun der Ënn, a non-profit organisation defending civil rights on the internet that provides high-bandwidth Tor nodes all over the world to protect online privacy, anonymity, freedom of speech and fight censorship.

▸ Chaos Computer Club Lëtzebuerg on Twitter

▸ Frënn vun der Ënn on Twitter

Multiplica is organised by:

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
© Rotondes 2021, all rights reserved Terms and conditions • Webdesign & Developpement by Rotondes
general Contact

 

+352 2662 2007

info@rotondes.lu

ticketing

+352 2662 2030

tickets@rotondes.lu

Table ronde

résister grâce aux technologies

 

Une discussion avec des artistes, curatrices, hackers
et activistes 

Modération: Yves Conrardy

Table ronde-EN-NEW.jpg

En 2021, plus personne ne pourrait imaginer vivre sans internet ni technologies digitales. Mais alors que nous ne sommes pour la plupart que de simples consommateur∙rice∙s, de nombreux∙ses artistes, activistes et hackeurs interrogent nos habitudes numériques. Nous en avons convié plusieurs à cette première table de ronde de Multiplica 2021 afin qu’ils nous fassent part de leurs idées et de leurs actions.

 

Lors de cette table ronde, nous allons donc découvrir comment les technologies soutiennent l’engagement et l’action en faveur des causes les plus urgentes du moment et comment des contributions à Wikipedia pourraient faire du net un espace plus égalitaire.

 

Nous explorerons également le réseau Tor. Souvent représenté à tort comme les bas-fonds du web, il protège pourtant bien mieux les données privées et les libertés de ses utilisateur∙rice∙s que l’internet que nous utilisons quotidiennement. Cette table ronde risque donc de bousculer quelques idées préconçues !

ven 26.02 >19:00-20:30

Durée:

90'

Lieu: 

Galerie

Langue(s): 

En anglais avec traduction simultanée en français

Tarif: 

Entrée gratuite, sur inscription obligatoire

participant∙e∙s
Joanie-LEMERCIER-CONSTELLATIONS-©-MARINE

Joanie Lemercier

(FR, Artiste, Activiste)

 

Dans son travail, l’artiste et activiste français Joanie Lemercier joue avec la perception visuelle du spectateur: ses projections de lumière bouleversent l’espace et perturbent nos sens. Initié très jeune à la création sur ordinateur par sa mère, il développe un goût pour les structures épurées : géométrie, motifs et formes minimalistes. Son travail joue avec ces structures concrètes, impliquant la physique comme la philosophie.

 

Ses premières expérimentations avec des vidéoprojecteurs naissent en 2006. En 2008, il co-fonde le label visuel AntiVJ avec Yannick Jacquet, Romain Tardy et Olivier Ratsi. Le label crée des installations pour de nombreux festivals et conçoit des mapping architecturaux à travers le monde. En 2013, il fonde son propre studio à Bruxelles.

 

Après des années passées à explorer les possibilités infinies qu’offrent les nouvelles technologies, Joanie utilise aujourd’hui son expérience artistique pour participer au débat autour des problèmes environnementaux et proposer de nouveaux modes d’action.

▸ Joanie Lemercier sur Twitter

Juliette_Bibasse-portrait-1000x1000.jpg

Juliette Bibasse

(FR, directrice de production pour le Studio Joanie Lemercier, Curatrice)

 

Avec un parcours en direction artistique, Juliette a un goût pour les esthétiques simples et épurées. Depuis 2009, elle met ses compétences au service de la scène culturelle numérique, créant liens et opportunités entre les artistes, les festivals et les différents acteurs du monde artistique.

 

Comme productrice indépendante, elle participe à un large spectre de projets : festivals d’arts numériques internationaux, installations, commandes pour des événements privés,… Elle représente de nombreux∙ses artistes internationaux∙ales et les accompagne dans la diffusion de leurs projets existants ou de nouvelles installations.
 Elle est aujourd’hui directrice de production pour le Studio Joanie Lemercier.

 

Basée en Belgique depuis 2013, elle est active au sein de la scène arts numériques de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. Depuis 2016, elle travaille comme commissaire associée à différents festivals et institutions. Depuis 2019, elle est commissaire internationale invitée du festival STRP à Eindhoven. La même année, elle a co-fondé SALOON Brussels, un réseau international de femmes du monde de l’art. En 2020, elle a développé un nouveau parcours lumière pour la ville de Louvain.

▸ Juliette Bibasse sur Twitter

Rosa_Paardenkooper-Credit_Creating_Stori

Rosa Paardenkooper

(iel/elleux - NL, traducteur∙rice, curateur∙rice,

codeur∙se amateur∙e)

 

Rosa Paardenkooper est ambassadeur∙rice régional∙e Europe pour Art+Feminism (2020-21). Iel est cofondatreur∙rice de la School in Common, une école auto-organisée centrée sur l’apprentissage, l’étude et l’être en commun. Rosa travaille actuellement sur Mourning School, un programme d’études transdisciplinaire en collaboration avec la curatrice Lucie Gottlieb. Son travail aborde les questions de traduction collaborative, d’accessibilité digitale, de justice pour les personnes en situation de handicap, de santé mentale, de pédagogie critique et d’édition radicale.

▸ Art+Feminism sur Twitter

Sam_Grüneisen_no credit.jpg

Sam Grüneisen

(LU, digital native, hacker)

 

Sam est membre de la branche locale du Chaos Computer Club (CCC), le Chaos Computer Club Lëtzebuerg (C3L). Cette association de hackers informe sur des questions techniques et sociétales liées, par exemple, à la surveillance, la vie privée, la liberté d’information, l’hacktivisme et la protection des données. C3L est propriétaire du ChaosStuff Hackerspace, un lieu qui permet à ses membres et aux hackers qui partagent leur philosophie de se rencontrer et de travailler ensemble.

 

Sam est également membre de Frënn vun der Ënn, une a.s.b.l. de défense des droits civiques sur internet. Elle met à disposition des nœuds Tor haut-débit à travers le monde pour garantir vie privée, anonymat et liberté d’expression et pour lutter contre la censure.

▸ Chaos Computer Club Lëtzebuerg sur Twitter

▸ Frënn vun der Ënn sur Twitter