Audiovisual concert

subassemblies

 

Ryoichi Kurokawa

sa_photo_04.jpg

© Bruno Destombes

Audio and visual concordance is key in Ryoichi Kurokawa’s works. The Japanese artist considers both the audio and visual elements as different vectors of one unique piece that have to flow together and enter into collision at the same time.

 

Based on this principle of hybridisation, the audiovisual concert subassemblies explores the relationship between nature and human-made structures through an architectural perspective.

 

The main visual sources of this project are 3D data captured from laser scanning, thermal images and filmed footage of forests, architecture and ruins which are distorted and reconstructed into modules as subassemblies, thus creating a renewed timeline with renewed layers of order and disorder while revealing the force of both nature and art.

Sat 27.02

Schedule:

Doors: 20:00

Show: 20:30

Duration:

45'

Age:

From 16 years old

Place: 

Grande Salle (Rotonde 1)

Price: 

Presale:

≤26: 8€

>26: 12€

Doors:

≤26: 10€
>26: 15€

Warning: Strobe lights used during this show may cause discomfort and potentially trigger seizures for people with photosensitive epilepsy.

 Ryoichi Kurokawa's website

▸ Ryoichi Kurokawa on Vimeo

Interview with Ryoichi Kurokawa

Ryoichi Kurokawa​

Japanese artist Ryoichi Kurokawa (b. 1978 in Osaka, currently living and working in Berlin) is a true poet of the transformative cinema, lyrically transfiguring the analogue representations of perceived nature into digital streams of vertiginous imagery and emotion.

 

The architecturally crafted precision of his sensitively synched fragmentary images placed side by side on our retina tends to displace the persistence of blurred memory under the effect of boundless luminosity.

 

All of his works lie in the notion of hybridisation: between analogue and digital, but also between time and space, the full and the fragmentary, the simple and the complex, the reactive and the contemplative, the auditory and visual.

 

Kurokawa’s significant solo and group exhibitions, performances and permanent works include: Coder le Monde, Centre Pompidou (France, 2018); The Dream of Forms, Palais de Tokyo (France, 2017); One of a Thousand Ways to Defeat Entropy − The 54th Venice Biennale (Italy, 2011); Synthesis, Tate Modern (England 2007), among others.

 

subassemblies has been shown worldwide, including at Ars Electronica (Linz, Austria), TodaysArt (The Hague, Netherlands), Scopitone (Nantes, France), Mutek (Montreal, Canada) and Mutek JP (Tokyo, Japan).

sa_photo_01.jpg

© Bruno Destombes

Credits

 

Concept, direction, composition, programming: Ryoichi Kurokawa / producer: Nicolas Wierinck / coproduction: LOXOSconcept (Matera 2019), MUTEK, Scopitone/Stereolux, TodaysArt / produced by Studio Ryoichi Kurokawa

subassemblies is part of a larger project called s.asmbli / subassemblies which consists of a concert piece, installations, printings (sculptures) and a screening version.

Artist's statement

 

aesthetics of conversion


The work of the Japanese artist Ryoichi Kurokawa is in keeping with a trend that could qualify as the aesthetics of transcription or conversion, which has been part of the history of art for almost a century.

 

Over the last fifteen years, various artists in the field of digital art have sought to create installations and audiovisual concerts (in sensitive, audible or visual form) to capture our imagination in terms of digital data. Others, from a more synaesthetic perspective, have searched to showcase the concept of signal aiming to visualise sound signals with the help of machines, and turn images into sounds (willingly abstract and geometric) through calculations on computers. This artistic current began in the 1920s at a time when many artists were trying to give birth to time-based visual works whose range of movements, abstraction, geometry, and occasional concrete figures, seemed to adhere more to the dynamics of music. Pioneers of this approach include Walter Ruttman, Hans Richter, Viking Eggeling and Lazio Moholy-Nagy. In more recent decades, through the power of visual music, Oskar Fischinger, Len Lye and Norman McLaren have explored some of these principles.

 

From the late 1960s to the end of the 1980s, artists were given access to computer and video equipment in laboratories, studios and institutions dedicated to research and creation. This gave a new impetus to the ideas initiated by the avant-garde at the beginning of the 20th century, and generated the films and videos (sometimes in the form of a study) of John Whitney, Ed Emshwiller and the duo, Steina & Woody Vasulka, all of which continued to pace up and down the territory of abstraction, while filmmakers such as Robert Cahen and Gary Hill explored the boundaries of portrayal and language.

 

Since his early work in the mid-2000s, Ryoichi Kurokawa has followed the same work process: distorting (with the help of software) images and sounds that he himself records in natural environments and urban spaces. Through digital manipulation, his source materials gradually move away from their original form, gaining abstraction, revealing a visual and auditory universe of shades and tones, sometimes poetic but more often dynamic, animated with light convulsions and hypnotic pulsations. Technological and innovative as they may seem, in effect, his works originate from the most concrete reality and more still from the surrounding nature that the artist considers "not from a romantic point of view, but rather formal", drawing inspiration from "its structures and its movements". 

 

His works are often modelled on the numerous Japanese practical artists who, from calligraphy and poetry to theatre and dance, often develop their work within a willingly animist relationship with nature: its rhythms, forms and seasons. However, the novelty of this work is that here, Kurokawa’s approach originates from a more scientific viewpoint than in the past.

Concert audiovisuel

subassemblies

 

Ryoichi Kurokawa

sa_photo_04.jpg

© Bruno Destombes

​Ce qui prime dans les œuvres de Ryoichi Kurokawa, c’est le rapport entre le sonore et le visuel. L’artiste japonais considère les deux éléments comme deux vecteurs d’un tout : ils se développent ensemble et finissent par se rencontrer.

 

Sur ce principe d’hybridation des sens, le concert audiovisuel subassemblies interroge la relation entre la nature et les structures artificielles au travers du prisme de l'architecture.

 

Le projet trouve ses sources visuelles dans des images des forêts, de bâtiments et de ruines reconstituées à partir de données 3D obtenues par balayage laser, de relevés thermiques et d’images filmées. Ces visuels sont déformés puis reconstruits en modules (ou sous-ensembles), ce qui a pour effet de renouveler la chronologie acceptée de l'histoire et les (dés)ordres établis, tout en révélant simultanément les forces de la nature et de l’art.

Sam 27.02

Horaires:

Ouverture des portes: 20:00

Show: 20:30

Durée:

45'

Âge:

À partir de 16 ans

Lieu: 

Grande Salle (Rotonde 1)

Tarif: 

Prévente:

≤26: 8€

>26: 12€

Caisse du soir:

≤26: 10€
>26: 15€

Attention : Cet événement utilise des lumières stroboscopiques susceptibles de causer des désagréments allant jusqu’à des troubles épileptiques chez les personnes photosensibles.

 Site web de Ryoichi Kurokawa

▸ Ryoichi Kurokawa sur Vimeo

Interview avec Ryoichi Kurokawa

Ryoichi Kurokawa​

L’artiste japonais Ryoichi Kurokawa (né en 1978 à Osaka, résidant et travaillant à Berlin) est un véritable poète du cinéma transformatif. Il transpose de manière presque lyrique des représentations analogiques de la nature telle que nous la percevons en des flux digitaux emplis d’émotions et d’images à couper le souffle.

 

Ces flux sont élaborés à partir de fragments d’images synchronisés avec précision et sensibilité. Dans un éclat de luminosité, la mémoire rétinienne s’en trouve momentanément perturbée.

 

Les œuvres de Ryoichi Kurokawa sont ancrées dans la notion d’hybridation : entre l’analogique et le digital, le temps et l’espace, le tout et le fragment, le simple et le complexe, le réactif et le contemplatif, le sonore et le visuel.

 

Parmi ses expositions, performances et installations permanentes majeures, on peut citer : Coder le Monde, Centre Pompidou (France, 2018); The Dream Of Forms, Palais de Tokyo (France, 2017); One of a Thousand Ways to Defeat Entropy à la 54e Biennale de Venise (Italie, 2011); Synthesis, Tate Modern (Royaume-Uni, 2007), etc.

 

subassemblies a été montré à travers le monde, notamment à Ars Electronica (Autriche), TodaysArt (Pays-Bas), Scopitone (France), Mutek (Canada) and Mutek JP (Japon).

sa_photo_01.jpg

© Bruno Destombes

Crédits

 

Concept, direction, composition, programmation : Ryoichi Kurokawa / producteur : Nicolas Wierinck / coproduction: LOXOSconcept (Matera 2019), MUTEK, Scopitone/Stereolux, TodaysArt / produit par Studio Ryoichi Kurokawa

 

subassemblies fait partie d’un projet plus large intitulé s.asmbli / subassemblies, composé d’une version concert, d’installations, d’impressions (sculptures) et d'une projection.

Note d’intention

 

L’esthétique de la conversion

 

L'œuvre de l'artiste japonais Ryoichi Kurokawa s'inscrit dans une tendance, aux contours multiples et que l'on pourrait qualifier d'esthétique de la transcription ou de la conversion, qui traverse l'histoire de l'art depuis près d'un siècle.

Depuis une quinzaine d’années, de nombreux artistes du numérique créent des installations (dans des formats sensoriels, sonores ou visuels) et des concerts audiovisuels afin d’intéresser les spectateur∙rice∙s aux données numériques. D'autres, dans une perspective plus synesthésique, cherchent à mettre en valeur le concept de signal, soit en permettant une visualisation des signaux sonores à l'aide de machines, soit en transformant des images en sons (volontairement abstraits et géométriques) grâce à des calculs par ordinateur. Cette vague a débuté dans les années 1920 à une époque où de nombreux∙ses artistes tentaient de donner naissance à des œuvres visuelles qui, par le mouvement, l'abstraction, la géométrie et parfois par des figures concrètes, semblaient se calquer sur la dynamique de la musique. On compte parmi les pionniers de cette approche Walter Ruttman, Hans Richter, Viking Eggeling et Lazio Moholy-Nagy. Au cours des dernières décennies, grâce au pouvoir de la musique visuelle, Oskar Fischinger, Len Lye et Norman McLaren ont exploré certains de ces principes.

 

De la fin des années 1960 à la fin des années 1980, les artistes ont eu accès à des équipements informatiques et vidéo dans des laboratoires, studios et institutions dédiés à la recherche et à la création. Les idées initiées par l'avant-garde du début du 20e siècle bénéficièrent d’un second souffle. On vit émerger les films et vidéos (parfois sous la forme d'études) de John Whitney, Ed Emshwiller et du duo Steina & Woody Vasulka explorant le territoire de l'abstraction, tandis que ceux des cinéastes Robert Cahen et Gary Hill étudiaient les limites de la représentation et du langage.

Depuis ses premières œuvres créées au milieu des années 2000, Ryoichi Kurokawa suit le même processus de travail : il déforme (à l'aide de logiciels) des images et des sons qu'il enregistre lui-même sur le terrain, dans des espaces urbains, par exemple. Transformé numériquement, le matériau source s'éloigne progressivement de sa forme originelle, gagne en abstraction et révèle un univers visuel et auditif tout en teintes et en tons, parfois poétique mais le plus souvent dynamique, animé de légères convulsions et de pulsations hypnotiques. Aussi technologiques et innovantes qu’elles puissent paraître, ses œuvres sont l’émanation d’une réalité très concrète et, a fortiori, de la nature environnante que l’artiste considère « d’un point de vue non pas romantique mais plutôt formel » et dont il s’inspire des structures et des mouvements.

Son travail est souvent influencé par les nombreux∙ses artistes et artisan∙e∙s japonais∙es qui, dans les domaines de la calligraphie, de la poésie, du théâtre et de la danse, optent pour un rapport volontairement animiste à la nature et à ses rythmes, ses formes et ses saisons. Toutefois, l’originalité de l’approche de Kurokawa vient de la préférence de l’artiste pour une approche plus scientifique qu’historique.