installation

The Great Indecision Council

Romain Tardy, Bruxelles (BE)

 

Who are we really? Who do we want to be? What do we tell Google, from the apparent intimacy of our smartphone, that we would rather not share with the rest of the world?

 

Artist Romain Tardy presents visitors of Multiplica with an unsolicited self-portrait of our current society by translating in real time the search terms most frequently used on Google and Google News into visual and audio signals in the public space; they become pulses that are visible and audible both inside and outside the circle.

 

The Great Indecision Council is a reflection for us all. An image that shows humanity as it really is, not how it wants to be seen. The work takes the shape of a mesmerizing and hypnotic large-scale light and sound installation, in which visitors are surrounded by a circle of light, sound, words and computer-generated, mystical chants. The Great Indecision Council invites visitors into the middle of this enchanting work while being watched by spectators close-by, and maybe even far above us.

 

Romain Tardy

Romain Tardy is an artist who spent four years studying art and design before deciding that «it was time to do something else».

 

His works establish a direct connection with everything digital. However, Tardy doesn’t necessarily use the term "digital art" to describe them. His installations are mostly IRL, offline because to him "the screen is not the limit". They are designed as sensory experiences using video mapping, sound and lighting effects. They question technological progress and its repercussions on society.

 

Romain Tardy used to work in animation and post-production studios. Even as a student he was already a professional VJ, which led him to work on collaborations with major artists such as Jay Z, Flying Lotus or Murcof and to the creation of the ANTIVJ label where he worked from 2008 to 2013. Currently he lives and works in Brussels. As well as his personal creations, he does creative and art direction, and art consulting.

Une installation de Romain Tardy

musique : Loran Delforge / développement du logiciel : Hand Coded / production : Into the great wide open in association with MU art space / avec le soutien du Mondriaan fund / création 2018

© Romain Tardy

Duration   : non-stop

Venue           : Rotonde 2

Dates            : Fri 01.03.19 >18:00-01:00

                                Sat 02.03.19 >18:00-01:00

Price             : free entry

Extra

Meet the artist + guided tour:

Sat 02.03.19 >16:00-18:00 (Plateforme + Rotonde 2)

registration required by email (tickets@rotondes.lu) or by phone (+352 2662 2030, Tue-Fri >13:30-18:30)

installation

The Great Indecision Council

Romain Tardy, Bruxelles (BE)

 

Qui sommes-nous vraiment ? Qui voulons-nous être ? Dans l’intimité de notre relation au smartphone, qu’avouons-nous à Google que nous ne dévoilerions pas au reste du monde ?

 

L’artiste Romain Tardy propose aux visiteurs de Multiplica un autoportrait involontaire de la société actuelle à travers les mots les plus fréquemment entrés dans Google Search et Google News, qu’il transforme en temps réel dans la sphère publique en signaux visuels et sonores, comme des pulsations du monde visibles et audibles à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur d’un cercle.

 

The Great Indecision Council est un reflet de chacun d’entre nous. Une image qui montre le monde tel qu’il est et non tel qu’il voudrait paraître. Cette hypnotisante installation de grande ampleur enveloppe les spectateurs dans un cercle de lumière, de sons, de mots et de chants mystiques générés par ordinateur. The Great Indecision Council invite les visiteurs au cœur de cette œuvre envoûtante, observés par les spectateurs autour d’eux, et peut-être d’autres bien plus loin au-dessus de nous.

 

Romain Tardy

Romain Tardy est un artiste qui a passé quatre ans à étudier l’art et le design avant de – selon ses propres mots – passer à autre chose.

 

Alors que son travail entretient un lien direct et indéniable avec le numérique, Romain Tardy considère que ses œuvres ne sont pas forcément à qualifier d’art numérique. En effet, ses installations artistiques sont principalement offline car « l’écran ne doit pas constituer une frontière ». Elles sont le plus souvent conçues comme des expériences sensorielles recourant notamment au video mapping, aux sons et à la lumière. Elles interrogent notre rapport aux évolutions technologiques et numériques et leurs répercussions sur la société.

 

Romain Tardy a travaillé dans des studios d’animation et de post-production. Parallèlement à ses études, il a exercé en tant que VJ, ce qui l’a conduit à collaborer avec des artistes comme Jay Z, Flying Lotus ou Murcof et à co-fonder le label ANTIVJ dans lequel il a été actif de 2008 à 2013. Aujourd’hui, il vit et travaille à Bruxelles. À côté de ses productions personnelles, il se consacre à la direction et à la consultance artistique.

Une installation de Romain Tardy

musique : Loran Delforge / développement du logiciel : Hand Coded / production : Into the great wide open in association with MU art space / avec le soutien du Mondriaan fund / création 2018

© Romain Tardy

Durée   : en continu

Lieu         : Rotonde 2

Dates     : Ven 01.03.19 >18:00-01:00

                             Sam 02.03.19 >18:00-01:00

Tarif       : entrée libre

Extra

Rencontre avec l'artiste + visite guidée:

Sam 02.03.19 >16:00-18:00 (Plateforme + Rotonde 2)

sur inscription par email (tickets@rotondes.lu) ou par téléphone (+352 2662 2030, mar-ven >13:30-18:30)